Andrew McKnight: Live In WSHU’s Studio A

10 p.m. to Midnight Host: Steve Winters

We welcomed back to Profiles in Folk, singer, writer, guitarist and storyteller Andrew McKnight from the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Andrew earlier this year released his fourth album, “Beyond Borders” on Falling Mountain Music ( It comes 10 years after the release of his first album, “Traveler.”

Andrew grew up in Plainville, Connecticut (and, in fact, had a concert there the day after this show aired), but has resided in Virginia for a number of years now, so long that he has a wonderful Southern lilt to his voice. As Andrew aptly characterizes it, his newest album is another step in his personal journey, beginning after the horrific events of 9-11. It’s a reexamination “of those things in life he cherished, those things he believed in, and those things he questioned.”

We finished up the night with a generous helping of Michigan tunesmith and instrumentalist Joel Mabus, who was in Connecticut as well on the next day for an appearance at the Branford Folk Music Society.

WSHU Chief Engineer Paul Litwinovich once again mixed the sound for the live performance.
Andrew McKnight Live In WSHU’s Studio A

“How High The Mountain”
“Good Things Matter”
“Bus To Nashville”
“Shenandoah Moon”
CD: “Do You Hear Them” from Beyond Borders. Falling Mountain Music
“The Road To Appomattox”

Listen to the live portion of the show

  • Artist, "Title", Album, Label


  • Joel Mabus, “Shake Them Hard Luck Blues”, “Red Dog Rag”, “Big Rock Candy Mountain”, Thumb

  • Thump, Fossil, ,


  • Joel Mabus, “Careless Love”, “The Cowboy’s Barb’ry Allen”, “Don’t Let Your Deal Go Down”, Six Of

  • One, Fossil, ,


  • Joel Mabus, “Sally Goodin In The Alley With Sugar In The Gourd”, Golden Willow Tree, Fossil