A Live Audience Soiree

10 p.m. to Midnight Host: Steve Winters

It's been several months since we've done a live audience version of Profiles in Folk and this night's show with the old-time/bluegrass/newgrass band HOE and singer-songwriters Anne Marie Menta, Mark Mirando and Katie Wilson, all accompanied by cellist Jordan Jancz, kept me wondering why we don't do this more often.

It was night of musical joy, orchestrated by HOE leader Dick Neal, and with various configurations of the artists accompanying each other both instrumentally and vocally. Plus, the audience that turned up for late night folk radio was truly supportive and wonderful.

WSHU Chief Engineer Paul Litwinovich, assisted by WSHU Engineer Tony Page, secured and set up the recently renovated Schine Auditorium on the Sacred Heart University campus (home of WSHU Public Radio in Fairfield). The acoustics and broadcast sound were perfect.

Our thanks to HOE (Dick Neal, Chris Teskey, Larry Deming, Bob Csugie and Stephen K. Miller) and Anne Marie, Mark, Katie and Jordan for an inspiring and enjoyable night of music.

Unfortunately, a problem with our camera prevented us from having pictures to post. We hope that we can get a few taken by the artists and add them later.

Listen to the live portion of the show:
with RealPlayer
With Windows Media Player

The weekly Folk Kalendar was done with guitar work from Martin Simpson gracing the background.

Here's the live show:

HOE: "Merrimac Ragdown"
HOE: "Turtle On A Rock"
HOE: "Wallflowers" with Chris Teskey on vocal
Katie Wilson: "(Walls Of) Jericho"
Katie Wilson: "Nothin' But A Woman"
Katie Wilson: "Seashells On The Shore"
Mark Mirando: "Now That You Mention It."
Mark Mirando: "Pretty Beautiful"
Mark Mirando: "Along For The Ride"
Anne Marie Menta: "Got To Know"
Anne Marie Menta: "Eternity"
Anne Marie Menta: "(Bare Bones Of My) Empty Heart"

A Round Of Covers

HOE: "Texas Eagle" (Steve Earle) with Bob Csugie on lead vocal
Katie Wilson: "Deep Ellum Blues" (Trad.) with Dick Neal, Larry Deming, Stephen K. Miller & Bob Csugie
Mark Mirando: "I've Just Seen A Face" (Beatles) with Anne Marie Menta, Dick Neal, Katie Wilson & Bob Csugie
Anne Marie Menta: "Walking After Midnight" (Patsy Cline) with Mark Mirando, Dick Neal, Bob Csugie & Larry Deming.

The Finale

Dick Neal & HOE: "Building A Building"
Dick Neal & HOE: "Cream Hill"
Entire Ensemble: "The Weight"


Dick Neal: www.dickneal.com
Hoe web site: www.hoesite.com
Anne marie Menta: www.annemariementa.com
Mark Mirando: www.myspace.com/markmirando
Katie Wilson: www.katiewilsonmusic.com
Jordan Jancz: www.myspace.com/jordanjancz