Mark Lemaire & Twilight Live In WSHU’s Studio A

10 p.m. to Midnight Host: Steve Winters

I welcomed the duo of Mark Lemaire & Twilight (Mark’s singing partner Cindy van Empel) to Profiles in Folk and WSHU’s Studio A for more than an hour of conversation and performance. Mark, who grew up in New England and moved to Northern California in 1985, is a recording engineer who has been performing music since he was 12. He returned to performing live music in 2004 and in 2008 met Cindy, an urban planner with a musical background in choral groups, and realized how perfectly their voices blended. They have been performing together as Mark Lemaire and Twilight since. Mark is an accomplished songwriter and guitarist and has released two albums, “Rubato” and “Practice Makes Perfect.” He and Cindy are currently recording their first album as a group.

The duo was on a New England tour that featured a stop at The Buttonwood Tree in Middletown and graciously agreed to spend time with us on Aug. 19. Our thanks go to WSHU Engineer Tony Page for overseeing and mixing the sound at the session. You can learn much more about Mark Lemaire and Twilight at

We “bookended” the pre-recorded appearance of Mark Lemaire and Twilight with selections from other artists who hail from California (with the exception of Canada’s Finest Kind who performed a song written by Californian Carol Denney, a musical associate of Mark Lemaire), so that listeners enjoyed a show that was “Completely California.”

Listen to the live portion of the show

  • Artist, "Title", Album, Label

  • Molly’s Revenge, “Bart’s Rant”, Aged 10 Years, Independent


  • Joel Raphael, “Way Over Yonder In the Minor Key”, “Heaven My Home”, The Songs Of Woody Guthrie, Inside Recordings

  • Paul Kamm & Eleanore MacDonald, “From The Fire”, “Quiet Voices”, From The Fire, Freewheel Records

  • Molly’s Revenge with Moira Smiley, “The Boys Of Barr Na Sraide”, Aged 10 Years, Independent


    Mark Lemaire & Twilight Live In WSHU’s Studio A

    “Red Umbrella”
    “Home Isn’t Home”
    “Whiter Shade Of Pale/Air On A G String”
    “Deeper Sense Of The Seasons”
    “Make It Simple”
    Demo CD: “Diamonds On A String”
    “Lake Of The Coheeries”
    “Get Ready For Luck”


  • Finest Kind, “The Riley Boys”, For Honour & For Gain, Fallen Angle

  • Coyote Grace, “Man In The Moon”, Ear To The Ground, Independent

  • Paul Kamm & Eleanore MacDonald, “Ship Gonna Sail”, From The Fire, Independent


  • Bill Evans, “Kobe Blues”, Bill Evans Plays Banjo, Independent

  • Mitch Greenhill & Mayne Smith, “Jay Gould’s Daughter”, Back Where We’ve Never Been, Independent

  • Jody Stecher & Kate Brislin, “Boat’s Up The River”, Return, Independent